Skip to content

Calling All Memories

May 10, 2011

I love making memories. It’s sad to me that we forget so much of our lives because our brains just can’t hold on to everything. That is where photography comes in; allowing us to recall moments, days, experiences, that we may have otherwise forgotten. Looking through old photo albums gives me a sense of calmness and reminds me how lucky I am to have a loving family, friends, and to simply be alive. Photos are grounding and comforting for me.

My family has been going up to our New Hampshire lake house since my Dad was a young boy. When I look through pictures memories flood back to me of my brothers and myself enjoying sunny afternoons all piled together in the hammock, me and my cousins jumping from the crooked dock, and my Grammy perfecting her fresh blueberry pie in the kitchen while everyone enjoyed one another’s company on the patio. Since the family sold the lake house this past summer, I have found it increasingly more difficult to remember such fine details as hard as I try.

My younger brother just decided to enlist in the Marine Corps this past week. As proud as I am of him, it was a somewhat devastating blow to the family, and difficult to comprehend. I found comfort in looking through old pictures of my brothers and I at the lake house. It reminded me how lucky we are to have one another and how precious time with my family is. I look to my photos for a sense of calm when I feel overwhelmed. I look to my photos when I want to remember the color of the lounge chairs by the lake. And I look to photos to recall on happy days so I can appreciate more the ones I am experiencing now.

What purpose do photos serve for you, in your life?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    May 27, 2011 9:27 am

    tears! So beautiful Katie!

Share Your Thoughts

