Skip to content

Ode to Omelets

May 11, 2011

Avoiding gluten for my health has been surprisingly easier than I initially thought. It started this past fall; the stomach pains, digestion issues…. I don’t usually have a weak stomach, so I knew something was off and started paying attention to what was causing me pain. Several months, a few doctors visits, and a couple of loaves of gluten free bread later, my doctor and I came to the conclusion that indeed gluten was the culprit. Now, I am lucky in that it is not full blown celiacs disease, which may come along with other complications. But it is estimated that 15% of the world’s population has a range of gluten intolerance, and after much research I believe that most people would feel better and gain better health with the elimination of grains, specifically gluten.

I consider the egg to be a nearly perfect food in its versatility and ability to be the carrier for endless toppings, ingredients, spices, and sauces, and made the transition to eating gluten free much easier. The egg became my bread, my pizza crust, breakfast cereal, sandwich wrap, stir fry staple, and topping to just about any and every meal. But my favorite way to consume eggs is a good old-fashioned omelet.

I start by sautéing a couple vegetables in butter. Meanwhile whisking 3 whole eggs in a bowl with just some S+P to your liking. Once the veggies are caramelized and soft, I pour over the eggs and allow to set for a few minutes, swirling the pan and lifting the edges slightly so the runny egg can reach the screaming hot pan. This is when you can think to yourself: If I were eating a sandwich, what other ingredients would I throw in between the slices of bread? I’ll give you some ideas of various topping that usually make an appearance either in the omelet or on top once I have folded it over:

Feta, cheddar cheese, pesto, cream cheese, salsa, avocado, fresh herbs, tomato sauce, cinnamon and jelly, peanut butter, spinach, jalepenos, hummus, beans, taziki sauce, leftover chicken or deli meat…..

…Now try to convince me  I must miss bread on a gluten free diet…

Do you love or hate eggs? In what creative ways do you eat and cook with eggs?

No comments yet

Share Your Thoughts

