Skip to content

In Memory of Strawberries and Cream

May 15, 2011

Being a sister to three brothers has taught me to be manipulative resourceful and clever in more ways than one. Growing up I was clearly the odd woman out, putting me at a disadvantage when it came to playing king of the hill, capture the flag, and especially when it came to snagging the last ear of summer corn at the dinner table. I learned at a young age to eat fast, be quick, and bribe them when neither of those worked to my advantage. Yesterday morning I used the latter tactic; in the form of strawberries and creme oatmeal pancakes.

My brothers always wake up starving (probably because its noon by the time they roll out of bed), and I’m usually there to swoop in and save the day. I love making food for them because they appreciate nearly anything I make (except kale chips), and I can even sneak in some almost spoiled strawberries and they’ll have no clue because they are sidetracked by the gooey marshmallows. So as fate would have it; they were starving, strawberries were begging to be used up, and I had the perfect request to ask for in return. Once my brother agreed to treating me to breakfast at our absolute favorite breakfast joint later this week, I set forth with making the pancakes.

Side note: These pancakes reminded me of the packets of strawberries and creme instant quaker oats. We used to always get the big variety packs of the instant oats in all the most amazing flavors any child could dream up. When they discontinued selling them, I proceeded to write to Mr. Quaker himself asking him why on earth they would put an end to such an amazing variety of flavors, disappointing millions of children across the country. Clearly my letter didn’t impact him too much, as I have yet to see these flavors back on the shelves. So instead of lamenting over the absence of oatmeal flavors I embarked on recreating my childhood favorite with a new twist.


Strawberries and Cream Oatmeal Pancakes 

Cast of characters for 2 hearty servings (5-6 pancakes):

  • 1 1/3 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (or white sugar or sugar substitute may work)
  • 7-8 medium strawberries, diced
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • cinnamon, salt, vanilla extract all to taste
  • a few handfuls of mini marshmallows (you could also spread fluff or use whipped cream)

Mix wet ingredients and then add the oats, stirring until well combined. Add more oats or more milk if necessary until you have a slightly soupy consistency. Add batter to a warm, buttered griddle and flip pancakes once until slightly browned and cooked through. When pancakes are still warm and on a plate, layer mini marshmellows in between and smoosh down until they are gooey. You could also use fluff or whipped cream if you do not have marshmallows. These pancakes are hearty and sweet, perfect for a chilly morning spent lounging around the house or a special brunch with family. 

Does anyone else remember these variety pack of fun oatmeal flavors? Has one of your favorite products ever been discontinued?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 1:45 am

    I’m going to make these!

Share Your Thoughts

