Skip to content

Miracle Milk

May 18, 2011

I nearly gave my mother a heart attack this morning when she walked down to me proclaiming I had just made my own milk! I allowed for a generous pause before explaining I had used peanut butter and a blender; not what she had immediately thought I meant, much to her relief. We did get quite the chuckle though and I assured her it would be many years before I meant it in any other way…

After reading Heather’s post I knew I had to give this a shot. At school I go through milk quite frequently between smoothies, late night cereal binges snacking, and the occasional mixed drink… obviously joking about the last one, come on. Anyways, I thought if I figured out this nut milk creation, I could save a lot of money and customize the milk flavor to my liking! Hmmm…. bacon milk anyone?

I blended up about 3 Tbsp of peanut butter and 2 cups of water. I was a little apprehensive to use the chunky peanut butter, because let’s be honest…. chunky milk isn’t exactly my idea of a refreshing beverage. But after about just a minute or two of blending, not only did the color magically turn to white, but all of the peanut chunks dissolved right into the milk. Maybe this should be called Miracle Whip Milk!

It made almost 1.5 cups of milk for only .17 cents! Thats a gallon for $1.80. You can’t beat that unless your literally making your own… or if you own a cow. But as a broke college student it doesn’t get much cheaper.

Next time I might add some vanilla, maple syrup, or other subtle flavoring just to experiment, but for now this peanut milk is delicious! It might take a little getting used to if you prefer cow’s milk or soy milk, but I think this will be great for those smoothies and cereal binges I speak of. Thanks for the idea Heather!

What kind of milk do you enjoy drinking? Cow’s? Almond? Soy? Goat’s?

There are so many kinds, and everyone seems to be very particular about what they prefer. I can actually swing with any kind of milk… I used to love soy but lately I just drink 2%, and now… peanut!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 9:50 am

    I’m so glad your peanut milk turned out – sounds delicious! I need to try it, and I really want to try tahini milk as well. Another commenter said that if you add flavoring or sweetener, the milk will go bad fairly quickly, and so she recommended making it in really small batches or just do single serving add-ins. So many possibilities. Have fun experimenting! 🙂

    • Katie permalink*
      May 18, 2011 10:24 am

      thanks for the heads up about sweetening it! My only issue with the milk is how thin it turned out. Did yours do the same using almond butter? Any suggestions on how to thicken it up a bit, or would I have to use an emulsifier like your other nut milk recipe?

  2. actorsdiet permalink
    May 19, 2011 7:22 pm

    i’ve always wanted to try the teddie pb!

    • Sarah Sandwell permalink
      May 19, 2011 11:40 pm

      Ohh teddy peanut butter is the best. Add a little honey to that, throw it on some toast, and you’re ready to go in the morning.

Share Your Thoughts

