Skip to content

Friendly Toast

May 19, 2011

I finally cashed in for my free breakfast with my brother this morning at our favorite breakfast joint, The Friendly Toast. After an awesome 8 mile run, I came home to find Matt back from school suspiciously early. Figuring it was just a bought of “senioritis” (which I knew all to well when I was his age), I jumped at the opportunity for a delicious free breakfast. Things taste better when they’re free, am I right?

Located in the quant town of Portsmouth, NH which resembles our own hometown quite well, The Friendly Toast serves breakfast lunch and dinner and is even open 24 hours a day on weekends! The restaurant has an old diner meets modern hip cafe vibe with plenty of vintage collectables and artwork decorating the interiors. Serving everything from ‘Drunkards French Toast’ and ‘Green Eggs and Ham’ to Vegan Burritos and ‘Crazy Quesadillas’; there is bound to be a unique and tasty option for everyones’ palate, preference, and dietary needs.

We started our brunch with a decadent hazelnut hot chocolate complete with whipped cream and marshmallows, and some sodas. After much deliberation and a few roles of the magic die to help guide our decisions we placed our orders and anxiously awaited the arrival of our food.

As the fate of the die would have it I ordered a hearty omelet overflowing with mushrooms, onions, parmesan cheese, avocado, and bacon. Matt chose the “Sklarmageddon’ which was every kind of meat they offer and pecans ( I guess they throw those in there to help you feel a little healthier after ordering such a meaty dish), and Sean decided on ‘Huevos Rancheros’; a classic dish of cheddar melted over andama bread (a New England classic), topped with 2 poached eggs, avocado, and fresh salsa.

And what would an egg breakfast be without home fries and toast. But not just any toast; the friendliest and thickest of all toasts. I passed mine off to my brothers to enjoy, but between an omelet the size of my head and deliciously greasy home-fries I was a happy camper.

So whether your in the mood for a tofu scramble or the Sklarmageddon, The Friendly Toast is worth giving a shot morning, noon, or 3 am.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sasha Snowchild permalink
    May 19, 2011 11:38 pm

    We have a place just like this in Cambridge, MA. I didn’t even know that there was another (maybe the original?) up in Portsmouth. I love that town!

  2. May 20, 2011 7:24 am

    Wow, that picture with the Dr. Pepper is absolutely gorgeous! That omelette looks super yummy also:)

    • Katie permalink*
      May 27, 2011 8:38 pm

      thanks! it WAS delicious 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

