Skip to content

Homesickness and New Beginnings

May 25, 2011

Yesterday marked my final day of a glorious 2 weeks spent at home, soaking in all the rain family time. It was an amazing break from a hectic house full of roommates and dirty dishes. As I drove myself back to Vermont I couldn’t help myself from becoming overwhelmed with gratitude for my amazing home, family, and friends. 3.5 hours in a car with only the faint static of subpar radio stations leaves a lot of quiet time for a girl to think. So in an attempt to fight my homesickness I am going to list all the reasons I am grateful for being back in Vermont.

I love my room here more than most things. My bed is so comforting after a long day of work or classes, the windows allow light to flood in during the day but let me sleep in to a reasonable hour, it always smells of vanilla and chanel perfume, and it’s where I can escape to when I need my precious alone time. My room at home doesn’t hold a candle to my room here.

I live with 5 of the funniest, most caring, and beautiful girls I could ask to be friends with. There is always someone around to hang out with or go on an adventure with which keeps things fun and interesting. I love alone time, but living with so many friends has pushed me out of my comfort zone in a lot of good ways. This was some of us planting a garden in front of our house last September. After the long Vermont winter, we are seeing our flowers poke through the earth finally!

 

Although my kitchen isn’t the cleanest, I do love shopping and cooking for myself everyday. At home I often resort to eating out, or eating at friends’ houses. At school I make a point to always be stocked with fresh food options, and although most nights end up being a simple stir-fry or yogurt bowl, it still feels good to be learning how to take care of myself in the kitchen. Last night for dinner I fried a couple pieces of bacon, sauteed some onions and fiddleheads in the bacon fat and dijon mustard, and then topped it off with two sunny-side-up eggs. It was my first time trying fiddleheads and they were pretty good!

 

And I really cannot complain about  all of the natural beauty and adventure that Vermont has to offer. Between hiking, cliff jumping into the lake, camping, and skiing; there is always an outdoor adventure to be had, which are my favorite kinds. This was taken on a hike this past fall that overlooks the gorgeous green mountain ranges. I’m hoping to get to some larger mountains this summer too! 

 

The love for mason jars in our house is really something too. We save every kind of glass jar we come across, and I also have a display of some unique ones in my room. This shot was taken last night while we were enjoying the warm evening on our roof, sipping wine and reminiscing about all the memories we made in our house. We are moving out next week to a different apartment and splitting up a bit, so this week is bittersweet as we wave our first house goodbye.

I feel sufficiently better about being back now. It’s been a few days, and my new job started yesterday which went really well. It’s going to be very interesting work, and along with my waitressing job that I already love, I can confidently say I won’t be dreading the work week this summer.

I still miss the comforts of home at age (almost) 21, even after nearly 5 years of not living there. It gets easier though, and I’m looking forward to what my last year in college holds in store. Maybe this will feel more like home by the end, just in time to move on to the next adventure that life has to offer. 

What are things you do to fight off feeling homesick? And what are some things about where you live now that you love?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 10:20 am

    What a lovely post! So good to hear about someone appreciating and enjoying what life offers them. Long may it continue for you and I hope you´ll be happy in your new home when you move!

    • Katie permalink*
      May 25, 2011 7:25 pm

      thanks for your sweet comment!

  2. Sasha Snowchild permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:38 pm

    When I get homesick I always love to spend time with my friends. Its always great to know that we all get homesick sometimes, too, no matter how old we get! Its funny how you don’t really start to appreciate that stuff until you grow up.

Share Your Thoughts

