Skip to content

Yum Blond(i)e

May 27, 2011

A slightly golden hue, subtly sweet, and most definitely attention grabbing. This is no dumb blonde were talking about. It’s a YUM Blondie.

I’m not usually one to make a “healthified” version of a dessert. Somewhere along the line I grew a large passion for all things butter, cream, and decadent chocolate. But in an attempt to satisfy my needs for a gluten-free treat I went to the drawing board. All of the various flours that are often used in GF baking are expensive and a bit intimidating to a newbie like me. But Katie’s GF blondies really caught my eye last week, and I’ve been thinking about them ever since! To be honest, I was skeptical that chickpeas could make a delicious dessert but I figured it was worth giving it a shot for 77 cents a can.

Last summer on a whim I threw together some black bean brownies not expecting much from them. To my, and all my friends’ disbelief they were dense, rich, and tasted nothing like beans. They were quite the hit, and I’ve had them stored in the back of my mind for a rainy day ever since. Well that rainy day was most definitely today (flash floods and tornado warnings!), so I cranked up the oven despite the 80 degree temps and went to work.

Gluten and Sugar Free Yum Blondies    

Based off of Katie’s genius recipe, I tweaked it a tad and came up with a delicious protein-packed, gluten and sugar free bread-blondie hybrid. That’s a mouthful to say, and they were definitely a mouthful (of heaven) to taste. The base is completely free of added sugars, and if you were to add unsweetened chocolate they would be entirely sugar free. I added dark chocolate so there was a bit of sugar in these. Although I thought they would turn out like blondies, the texture was a bit more cakey, and with a subtle sweetness they reminded me more of a bread. But call them what you like, I just call them Yum!

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup of peanut butter
  • 2 frozen bananas (unfrozen would also work)
  • 2 dates, pits removed
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup ground flax (could probably omit)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3+ cup chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate, but use whatever type you prefer)

Preheat the oven to 350 degree. In a food processor combine all of the ingredients except the chocolate chips. Blend until entirely smooth. If you prefer more sweetness you can add more banana or dates. Then fold in the chocolate chips and mix well. 

In a greased small bread pan (which I lined with tinfoil to make things easier), add the batter and sprinkle with additional chocolate chips. Pop them in the oven for about 30-35 minutes. 

I pulled them out of the oven and hesitantly tasted a corner. My roommates were curious and eager to try some, but I doubted they would find them appealing. After a long disclaimer that they were gluten free, not very sweet and they probably wouldn’t like them, they dove in anyways. The verdict? The entire pan was GONE in less than 10 minutes between 4 of us! We enjoyed them with a little butter, and the best part was their reactions when I told them the main ingredient! I ate about 4 or 5 and called it dinner because they are quite filling!

Thanks for the great recipe idea Katie!

Do you like to make “healthier” desserts, or do you prefer the real deal? 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 5:38 pm

    I still haven’t made these but I need to! I like both; sometimes you can’t beat the real thing with puddings but often the healthy versions are just as good if not better 🙂
    And I love summer thunderstorms too 🙂

    • Katie permalink*
      May 28, 2011 12:01 am

      yeah for some reason I love getting stormed in during the summer, but NOT the winter!

  2. Kevin permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:12 pm

    Well Katie all is…. Give me the real deal…. Chocolate chip cookies, slice and bakes… Woops that one got eaten before even going in the oven

  3. May 28, 2011 7:50 am

    So excited you’re on the chickpea blondie bandwagon lol! 🙂
    Thanks for mentioning me!

  4. May 28, 2011 10:36 pm

    I really love making healthy desserts!! I’ve been known to eat black bean brownies made with wheat bran for breakfast with greek yogurt!

Share Your Thoughts

