Skip to content

Sunbathing, Burgers, and Brownies

June 9, 2011

I have felt completely disconnected from the world without internet and TV for the past week or so. In a sense its been a calming change, but I welcomed the comcast man with open arms yesterday afternoon. Between not running as much and the lack of internet I have had lots of time on my hands for living..

Setting up our new apartment and my room has been tons of fun, and tons of money… who knew cleaning supplies and random chotchkis could add up so quickly! My room has quickly become my favorite place to unwind and read in. That book Edible has been thoroughly enjoyable and I plan to do a review on it once I finish up. It has some gorgeous photographs, enticing recipes, and stories about beautiful people trying to make a difference in our food system through farming and local food movements.

I’ve been cooking and baking when I get the chance to. Truthfully, most meals have been pathetically pieced together in a stubborn attempt to avoid spending more money at the store… but these brownies were far from a pathetic attempt. I tweaked Alex’s peanut butter chocolate cake  recipe and was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. My roommates enjoyed a few as well, but I pretty much polished off the pan in a day and a half. This morning I threw the last one into a blender with a banana, strawberries, milk and more peanut butter and a sinfully delicious breakfast was born. Thanks for the recipe inspiration Alex!

We’ve been enjoying the contrast of  cool evenings after long humid afternoons. A few nights ago a bunch of us went down to one of the lakefront parks for a barbeque and badminton. I just barely caught the end of the sun set with my camera, but pictures couldn’t do it justice.

And those hot, humid afternoons…. well they haven’t exactly been spent lounging on a beach. Much to my despair, as I have never been further than a bike ride away from an ocean during the summer, there are currently no beaches due to flooding all along the shores. Yesterday we checked out a beach but ended up enjoying the shade under the trees instead, as the stairs didn’t exactly lead to the beach we had anticipated seeing.

And last night a few friends and I headed downtown to enjoy $5 burgers and the live entertainment all along church street brought on by the jazz festival happening all week. We enjoyed delicious bacon guacamole burgers, had prime seating for the band, and some even more entertaining people watching. Church street brings all walks of life and some highly entertaining characters….

I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the start to my first summer in Vermont. It hasn’t been all sunbathing, burgers, and brownies however. My job has really started picking up as well and I’m learning so much! It’s been an amazing experience and opportunity to do what I’ve been doing so far, and I know it will continue to challenge me and hopefully start shaping my direction for after college.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    June 9, 2011 4:48 pm

    Oh!!! They look so good! But definitely try layering it! It is gorgeous!

    • Katie permalink*
      June 10, 2011 9:36 am

      thanks! yes I will be making them again soon because I cooked them a bit long and I’ll be sure to layer next time also.

  2. June 9, 2011 6:43 pm

    Wow this post is just beautiful..natural beauty is just gorgeous!

    And so is that cake 🙂

  3. June 11, 2011 1:18 am

    oh my goodness, just found your blog katie and wow i love these photographs!!!

    i also looked at your “about” page and saw that you live in/grew up in boston??? i go to school there! though i’m from california =)

    definitely looking forward to reading more of your blog and getting to know you more!

    -natalie

    • Katie permalink*
      June 11, 2011 2:55 pm

      thank you!! Yes, I grew up just north of Boston. What an awesome city, I’m jealous your at school there, I’m hoping to move back when I’m done with school.

  4. June 12, 2011 1:38 am

    omg!! that brownie looks amazing. chocolate and pb is my fave combo

Share Your Thoughts

