Skip to content

Worth the Wait

June 10, 2011

I’ve slowly been working my way through Edible, a book that celebrates small farms, local food, and stories that tie it all together. The book covers 4 sections of the country, highlighting certain places and people in each who work hard to produce quality food. The second half of the book is filled entirely with gorgeous photos and recipes split up by seasons.

Eating in season sort of comes naturally. Although Creamy Pumpkin Grits with Brown Butter sounded enticing, my frizzy head of hair and glistening sweat glands screamed otherwise. I’ll be saving the warmer and more comforting recipes for months from now. The plump strawberries and juicy watermelon are much more appealing. To really focus on eating seasonally however can sometimes be challenging but also very rewarding, as I discovered through last nights’ dinner adventure.

Naturally, I flipped through the Summer section of recipes and was torn between so many light and refreshing options. Fresh Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Vinaigrette, yes please. Lobster Rolls and Rich Corn Chowder, okay not so light but you wouldn’t have to twist my arm. But it was the Grilled Chicken and Peaches with Caramelized Onions and Goat Cheese that truly called to me.

One of my roommates and I set out to gather our cast of ingredients and settled in to enjoy a breezy summer night in our new kitchen. Juggling wine, a hefty camera, and my new 10 pound cast iron skillet was hardly easy but, in the name of food photography I made it work. Other than the 40 minutes it took to thoroughly caramelize the onion, this recipe was surprisingly simple and quick.

My favorite part was easily the sweet grilled peach, later smothered in tangy goat cheese. The recipe was simply grilled chicken and peaches, with caramelized onions, fresh goat cheese, over tossed greens. We kept the dressing light, and the ingredients simple because summer peaches don’t need much assistance in the taste department.

When your tempted to trade in your surplus of oranges for a mealy peach in December, remind yourself that a piece of juicy summer fruit is well worth the wait. And if you can spare the time, properly caramelized onions (as in 40 minutes versus 5) are worth the wait too.

What are your favorite picks for summer produce? Do you think eating seasonally is worth the wait or do you prefer to eat what you please throughout the year?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin permalink
    June 10, 2011 12:31 pm

    Delicious…so glad you are enjoying the book

  2. Kevin permalink
    June 10, 2011 12:33 pm

    Delicious…so glad you are enjoying the book
    Cannot decide what is better… The food or the wonderful photography

    • Katie permalink*
      June 10, 2011 11:32 pm

      thanks! the book is great, I’m still working my way through it slowly. It actually highlights a farm just down the road from me here too that I’ve been to! I’ll be trying out more recipes from it soon too.

  3. Lydia permalink
    June 10, 2011 4:15 pm

    the pictures came out soo good!!! this was sosooso yummy

    • Katie permalink*
      June 10, 2011 11:31 pm

      yes it wassss delicious. the pictures barely do the taste justice!

  4. tickledtofu permalink
    June 10, 2011 11:24 pm

    Eating seasonally is SO worth the wait!! I love trying new things in the kitchen based on what is available during the current season, it makes cooking so much more exciting and forces me to try new recipes constantly!

    • Katie permalink*
      June 10, 2011 11:33 pm

      I agree, it just makes everything come out more delicious..! well worth the wait for certain ingredients in my opinion

Share Your Thoughts

