Skip to content

Finally, a Tasty Cornbread

June 13, 2011

I’ve failed at making cornbread for 20 years…. Well that’s a bit of an exaggeration considering I never tried until age 19, but in all honesty I’ve made at least a dozen attempts and never enjoyed the outcome too much. And that is saying something because cornbread is my absolute favorite side to just about any soup, stew, or otherwise hearty meal.

It’s been raining here for days and I was craving something a bit more comforting than my typical summer fare. With the recent purchases of my cast iron skillet and a huge bag of gluten free flour, it would have been a sin to make anything other than cornbread. Thankfully this one came out much better than past attempts, and it was my first try at a gluten free version to boot!

I practically pounced on this bag when I saw the price. Cheap gluten free anything is hard to come by, and since I trust Bob’s Red Mill products I had no hesitation purchasing this flour. This recipe came together really simply thanks to the pre-mixed flour blend.

Gluten Free Cast Iron Cornbread 

This bread came out moist and held together fine with no xantham or guar gums, despite it being free of gluten. I recommend using a cast iron skillet (mine is 10 inches wide) if you have one for a nice crispy crust, but if you don’t have one any bread or cake pan will work. 

  • 4 Tbsp of salted butter
  • 1 cup of buttermilk (I used a little less than 1 cup of milk plus 1T of apple cider vinegar, let stand for 10 minutes to create a curdled buttermilk)
  • 1/4 cup whole milk plain yogurt
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup (more if you prefer a sweeter cornbread)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Gluten Free Flour (or just regular white flour)
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Put 1 T of butter in your cast iron skillet and place into hot oven for 5-10 minutes to warm up the skillet and melt the butter. Using a paper

Meanwhile, melt remaining 3 T of butter and whisk together egg, melted butter, buttermilk, plain yogurt, and maple syrup until completely smooth. In a separate bowl mix the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. 

Take out your warmed skillet using a paper towel spread around the melted butter to cover all sides. Pour the batter into the skillet and cook for 20 minutes, until slightly golden.

 

Do you prefer a sweet or savory cornbread?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 12:09 pm

    looks soo good. love cast iron anything hah lasts forever. maybe some chile with that badboy

    • Katie permalink*
      June 13, 2011 7:38 pm

      Molllllly! I’ve been loving your tumblr but I couldn’t figure out how to comment on it!

  2. June 13, 2011 1:57 pm

    Katie, I’ve failed at cornbread way too many times! I’m excited to try this tasty cornbread you’ve discovered!

    • Katie permalink*
      June 13, 2011 7:37 pm

      I know! It seems so simple but there are seriously a thousand different versions and ways to make it, I never seem to be satisfied with how it comes out. This one was finally good though, I recommend it!

Share Your Thoughts

