Skip to content

Celebrating with Chai and Thai

June 15, 2011
tags: ,

It was one of my roommates’ 21st birthday yesterday, so the past 48  hours have been quite the celebration. We took our spontaneous day trip the day before together, then went out at midnight for mojitos at our favorite bar with a bunch of friends.

In the morning I woke my roommates up with their favorite iced coffees while they got ready to go to work. I then had four hours to get the house in order, decorate for her birthday, and bake some delicious cupcakes. I guess I under estimated the amount of time it takes to make buttercream frosting and hang balloons from ceiling fans because I found myself having to choose between showering and eating lunch before leaving for work. Naturally I chose food, but I couldn’t help but wonder if this is what motherhood would feel like someday.

I based these off of Jenna’s chocolate cupcakes with Chai Buttercream frosting. Wow. My friends loved them too. The frosting had the perfect amount of spice and Bob’s Red Mill gluten free flour pulled through once again with incredibly moist cupcakes. This frosting nearly made me reconsider my hatred towards tea…. then again it could have been the stick of butter or 4 cups of sugar that kept me coming back for more. Either way it was addicting!

After working all afternoon my friends picked me up and we went straight to dinner at a great hole in the wall Thai restaurant in the next town over. I had never been but so many people have raved about it, so I knew it wouldn’t disappoint. After eating ourselves into an oblivion of chicken satay, pad thai (yum), and other tasty dishes we rolled ourselves home and relaxed for the rest of the night.

 

Birthday celebrations are always a blast, and this was no exception. It got me quite excited for my own 21st birthday in 2 weeks!

 

Do you like Thai food? Is there a certain dish you get everytime or do you tend to mix it up? Up until yesterday I was no a huge fan, I just never had anything I loved too much. But the dishes we chose last night were really great.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 1:36 am

    You are such a great friend! I can’t to turn 21 in a month, too 🙂

    I loove Thai food. Pad Thai is an obvious fave, along with semi-spicy curries over rice. So flavorful!

    ❤ Allison
    http://www.allisonsdeliciouslife.com

  2. June 16, 2011 12:47 pm

    Oh my gosh I saw those cupcakes on Jenna’s blog and was DYING at how good they looked – I can’t wait to try this recipe out!

    You’re such a good roommate – I definitely didn’t go all out like that for my roommates in college, haha Oops 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

