Skip to content

Summer Bucket List

June 17, 2011

I’m such a list person, I even needed to make a list to ensure I have a fulfilling and fun summer. As if I could forget…. summer is easily my favorite season. After months of itchy dry skin, blindingly pale complexion, and enough hours spent indoors to drive me stir crazy by November; I am more than ready to break out of my cocoon and embrace the changing season the day it hits 45 degrees.

The past three summers I have been fortunate enough to spend on one of the tiniest, yet undoubtedly most gorgeous islands in New England, Block Island. Surrounded by miles of beaches and bluffs, quiet dirt roads, yoga on the beach, bonfires by night, and breakfasts on the porch in the morning sun… I could go on for days about all my memories about those summers.

We made long lists of all that we wanted to squeeze in to those 3 short months; listen to the blues on the beach music festival, have drinks on the deck of Kittens, watch the sunrise from the overlook, go night swimming in fresh pond…. we always managed to check off nearly every item, making unforgettable memories.

But back to the present. Vermont. I chose to stay in Burlington to experience my first, and possibly last (I’m graduating!) summer in the green mountain state. I’ve been enjoying it so much, and I’m beyond happy with my decision to stay. But that hasn’t stopped me from creating a grand to-do list to ensure I live this summer up to its full potential.

Vermont Summer 2011 Bucket List

1. Swim at the Bolton Potholes…. About 30 minutes from here are some great cliffs and swimming holes to jump into. If I can’t have the ocean, nearly breaking a limb from a 40 foot cliff jump  a fresh water swimming hole will have to do.

2. Drive-in movie theater. We actually went 2 nights ago to see the Hangover 2. It was my first drive-in experience, and it was such a blast. We snuggled into the trunk of the jeep with cheap wine, salty popcorn burning our lips, the smell of bug spray on our sticky skin. Summer.

3. Go to the Farmers’ Market as much as possible. We’ve been going every Saturday morning to admire the fresh produce and take in the smell of sizzling sausages and breakfast sandwiches on the grills.

4. Camping trip. We are planning on doing this sometime in August with a bunch of our friends, a 3 room tent, and plenty of wine and burgers. I’m thoroughly looking forward to this one as it’s been years since I’ve been on a camping trip.

5. Hike a big mountain. I’ve done a couple really big hikes up here, but it’s been too long since I’ve laced up my hiking shoes, packed a hearty lunch, and tackled a daunting mountain. I love a challenge.

6. Go to Stowe for a day trip. Check.

7. Host a BBQ in our backyard gravel parking lot. We have had a few successful BBQs already this summer. Although the gravel is charming, we’ve had even more fun down at one of the waterfront parks where they supply tables, grills, and a pavillion. We hope to keep this up throughout the summer.

What’s on your summer (or life) to-do list?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 1:08 pm

    This is just precious, summer bucket list before you graduate. I thought you looked a bit young but great post:)

  2. June 20, 2011 10:08 am

    Hey there!
    I love the pictures, girl you’ve got talent! 🙂 I too created a summer bucket list, I think it’s a great way to go back to school knowing you enjoyed the time you had off. I’ll be sure to visit again soon 🙂

    • Katie permalink*
      June 20, 2011 5:27 pm

      thank you! And I agree, I love crossing things off and being able to look back on it knowing I packed so many things into a season.

  3. June 20, 2011 7:46 pm

    I know you are in Vermont, but you should hike Mt. Washington in NH. Of course there are some other great mountains in VT, too, but if you wanna go ‘big’…go for Washington!

    • Katie permalink*
      June 20, 2011 10:27 pm

      funny you say that, one of my older posts (about a month ago) was about my brother and I hiking Mt. Washington! There was still a lot of snow and ice so we only made it about 3/4 of the way up, but we’re planning on reaching the summit in July. I can’t wait, it was amazing!

Share Your Thoughts

