Skip to content

Easy Breezy Coconut Ice Cream

June 22, 2011

Coconut is a love hate kind of fruit. Personally, its a love. Coconut water, sweetened toasted coconut, unsweetened desiccated coconut, coconut flour, coconut butter, coconut milk, truffles filled with coconut…. truffles filled with anything for that matter. (I hate pina cooladas though, weird?)

Ice cream is not a love hate kind of food. If you hate it, you can X out now before I offend you with my unwavering passion for the stuff. Real ice cream. The kind that takes hours to freeze and churn, heavy on the butter, cream, and eggs. Simple and naked or loaded with treasures.

Recipes that take half a day away from me on the other hand are more of a hate thing. So although my love for the real-deal ice cream that takes hours of churning and freezing is not going anywhere, I knew I could create a much simpler recipe to satisfy both my loves and hate in one!

And satisfy it did. This recipe came out so incredibly rich (thank you full fat coconut milk!), and perfectly sweet. Your gonna want to try this out next time you have an ice cream craving but no ice cream maker… and no way of getting to the closest convenience store for a pint of Haagen Dazs premium ice cream. Because although this recipe is good, it’s no Haagen-Dazs.

Easy Breezy Coconut Ice Cream

No ice cream maker involved, just a purely decadent treat perfect for summer and easy to make. Serves 1. 

  • 1/2 cup of full-fat coconut milk (found in the international section of your grocery store in a can)
  • 1/2 cup other milk (I used 1%)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract (you could try using vanilla instead) 
  • 2.5-3 Tbsp maple syrup (or other sweetener of choice)
  • tiny pinch salt (1/8 tsp, no more)

In a blender mix together all the ingredients to combine.

Pour into an ice cube tray and freeze for a couple hours.

Once frozen, dump the ice cubes back into the blender and let the magic happen.

You might have to scrape down the sides periodically so that everything comes together. Serve immediately or store covered in the freezer. 

Do you love or hate coconut? What’s your favorite form of coconut…. shredded? flour? butter? dunked in chocolate?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 5:07 pm

    When I clicked on the thumbnail I thought it would just be a teaser since I don’t have an ice cream maker. I’m glad I read your blog because now I can make this without one! 🙂 Gorgerous photos. I love coconut when involved with chocolate. Have you tried Starbucks’ new coconut mocha? Yum!

    • June 22, 2011 5:40 pm

      I know! I almost never read ice cream recipes because they all call for an ice cream maker. This just takes some time to freeze but other than that its so simple and quick.
      I haven’t tried that starbucks drink yet, but a few weeks back I had a coconut hot chocolate somewhere which I bet is similar. That sounds to die for!

  2. June 22, 2011 9:22 pm

    Fun idea! I have light coconut milk. Would that work?

    • Katie permalink*
      June 22, 2011 10:11 pm

      Yes! You could use 3/4 cup light coconut milk and 1/4 a different kind of milk. Or just experiment with different ratios to find one that suits you.

  3. June 22, 2011 10:11 pm

    For me, Coconut is a HUGE love..I’m addicted! (but love pina coladas, not gonna lie!) and I love how simple this coconut ice cream recipe is…given I don’t have an ice cream maker it’s literally PERFECT for a hot summa’ day! I’m going to try it out with cocoa in there, Yum!! 🙂

  4. June 27, 2011 1:21 am

    OH MY GOSH! This is amazing. I can’t believe you don’t need an ice cream maker. I’ll definitely be trying this!

Share Your Thoughts

