Skip to content

Oh My Dog!

June 23, 2011

Meet my new roommate, running partner, garbage disposal, and official man of the house …….

Hunter! Lab-Rotty Mix, 7 months young.

My roommate adopted Hunter last night after months of searching and deliberating. He is a good fit for us; a ladies man in a house of soon-to-be 8 girls, he has been basking in all the attention and love.

Short runs to the dog park. Hiking trails throughout the summer and fall. Quick trips to the corner store. It’s all more fun with a companion.

I’m really looking forward to getting him in shape, starting slowly of course. Short jogs and walks to start out, lots of fetch in the dog park, and hopefully he has the attention span for longer runs eventually (cause mine has seriously waned).

He’s going to be a handful, especially for the first few months, but hopefully letting him run off some steam with me in the mornings will help. If you have any tips for having a new pup around, I’d love to know in the comment section!

How old were you when you purchased your first pet on your own? My roommate is the same age as me, and although that seems young to have the responsibility of a dog, I think the added benefit of having 2 roommates (and many other friends living in the building) to help out will be key. I’ll be sure to update about how it’s all going!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lydia permalink
    June 23, 2011 2:50 pm

    adopteeeeeed not purchased 🙂

    • Katie permalink*
      June 23, 2011 2:55 pm

      I knew it sounded weird to say purchased but I couldn’t think of the word! haha obsiouvlyyyy. I changed it, thanks.

Share Your Thoughts

