Skip to content

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

June 24, 2011

.

My first love: Sabra Hummus. I ate so much one summer, that eventually I couldn’t stand the intense richness anymore. So I tried other versions; I ate my way through every flavor, texture, and brand out there. Try me, I’ve probably had it.

.

Then I became a broke college student and couldn’t stand the intense poor-ness anymore. So I tried making my own. And I haven’t looked back since.

.

Hummus is so darn easy to make, perfectly customizable to your palate, and cheap cheap cheap.

Cup of dried garbanzo beans: .59 cents

Scoop of tahini: .40 cents

Spices and minced garlic: pennies

….. you do the math.

,

I also started cooking my own dried beans. Taste freshly cooked chick peas and thank me later. Just bring them to a boil for a few minutes then cut the heat and let them sit in the water, covered, for 45 minutes. Easy and cheap, no need to soak them overnight.

.

.

It’s actually quite funny how much I adore peppers nowadays. All my friends can attest to how much I once despised (understatement) all things that even came in contact with a pepper. Somewhere along the way my taste buds took a 360 and now I adore them. As in I eat some every day.

.

So now that I’ve told my hummus, beans, and pepper stories, it’s time for a recipe.

.

.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  • 1 large red pepper
  • 1 and 1/3 cups chickpeas 
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T lemon juice (I wish I had some, I would recommend using it)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • Cumin, garlic powder, salt, pepper all to taste

.

Cooking the Beans: Measure out 1 and 1/3 cups dried beans into a pot of water and bring to a boil. Allow the water to boil for about 5 minutes then cut the heat and cover the pot. Leave the beans to soak for about 45 minutes and test them for doneness. Soak longer if needed. 

Roasted the pepper: Place the pepper over your gas stove and turn heat to medium. The skin will make crackling noises and begin to char. Once the side is almost completely charred turn pepper to the other side and repeat until the entire pepper is blackened. It takes roughly 5 minutes total. Allow the pepper to cool in a paper bag (which steams and allows the skin to loosen), then peal off the charred skin. It’s fine if bits of the black skin remain.

Making the Hummus: In a food processor combine the beans, cut up and peeled red pepper, tahini, minced garlic, lemon juice, and spices. Begin processing and slowly drizzle in olive oil until your desired consistency is reached. Also adjust the spices as needed. 

I prefer more tahini and less olive oil, but play with the ratios until your preference is reached.If you have’nt binged on Sabra’s as I have you may prefer more oil and less tahini. 

.

What’s your favorite flavor or brand of hummus? I’m usually a plain jane hummus gal, drier and chunkier consistency, heavy on the tahini.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 8:57 am

    that looks so good! unfort my stomach just does NOT tolerate beans well, at all, and so i really dont eat much hummus 😦

    I want to eat it but it’s just not.smart.at.all for me….boo!

  2. June 24, 2011 11:48 am

    I didn’t know you could literally add roasted red peppers to it and get those results! Am I just really slow?? Definitely have to try this version!

  3. June 24, 2011 2:46 pm

    I also love plain but my boyfriend likes to add sriracha hot sauce to his. The peppers look really good though.

    • Katie permalink*
      June 24, 2011 2:50 pm

      I love plain also, but surprisingly the roasted pepper didn’t add so much over powering flavor, so I could still enjoy the rich tahini and chickpea flavors. And that reminded me that I did add some hot sauce to this recipe too but I forgot to add that into the blog haha!

  4. June 24, 2011 3:36 pm

    I’m with you – I’m a plain jane hummus gal for the most part. I DO enjoy the roasted red pepper variety on occasion but for the most part I’m an “original” girl through and through 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

