Skip to content

My Eight Essential Makeup Products

June 27, 2011

I’m not too much of a girly-girl, and in fact my whole getting ready routine is under 10 minutes everyday. I’d much rather be outdoors, sweating, or slathering on sunblock than primping myself in the mirror, but sometimes showing up to work or class a sweaty mess just doesn’t cut it. So occasionally I succumb to the pressures of society to appear somewhat put together. Here is how I so so while still keeping it really quick and simple:


.

I wash my face with Philosophy’s Purity face wash. I’m a sucker for good reviews, and this is the top rated face wash all over the internet. It’s very mild and doesn’t leave my face dried out or greasy, and my skin has never been this clear. I don’t think I’ll ever switch face washes.

.

I moisturize with Clinique’s Dramatically Different which is extremely light. Once again, easily the best moisturizer I’ve ever used, and worth the little investment.

.

For a light cover-up I use Make Up Forever’s pressed powder in probably the lightest shade they make. What can I say, I’m Irish. But regardless, this stuff is fabulous and evens out my complexion really well.

.

I use Hoola Bronzer which I’m embarassed to say I’ve had since 10th grade. That might seem gross but I’m still alive, and it still works perfectly fine. I actually use it most days and I still have quite a bit left.

.

I purchased blush for the first time this year. I never thought I’d cave and buy blush, it always seemed like something for old people. But I was wrong. Or maybe I’m just getting old. Either way I love NARS blush in Orgasm. Once again, top reviews all over the internet and worthy of those reviews if you ask me.

.

I invested in MAC mascara to see if I noticed a difference between it and a drugstore brand. I’m not sure how much better it works, but I do love it. It still hasn’t dried out after months of use, and it makes really even and long lashes.

.

I use cheap eyeliner, not worth mentioning but it works just fine. Something from CVS. Find one you like and stick with it.

.

And on nights I go out, I brush on some eye shadow from an Urban Decay pallet. Pallets are great, but to be honest I only use two of the colors; both shades of brown. Keepin it simple!

.

For my lips I use whichever chapstick happens to be lying around, Burt’s Bees tinted lip balm, and if I’m feeling fancy, a dab of lipgloss. I bought lip gloss for the first time in my life a few months ago. Believe it. I used to hate the sticky feeling of lip gloss.

.

.

How long is your everyday getting ready routine? Do you like to keep it really simple, or do you like putting more effort into it? 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 3:41 pm

    everyone raves about that exact shade of blush from nars, i never even use blush

    try maybelline mascara in the pink and green tube, the original big lash. it’s as good as MAC, maybe better, and i am picky 🙂 i always go back to it. That or the $30 a tube lancome definicils which i just cannot justify anymore.

  2. June 27, 2011 3:50 pm

    During the day I use bare minerals powder, mascara and chapstick. It takes about 5 minutes. At night it depends on where I’m going. I use the same Nars blush as you, plus eyeshadow and liner. I love beachy colors that shimmer.

    • Katie permalink*
      June 27, 2011 10:09 pm

      Isn’t the NARS great? I also love summery/ beachy shades. I used to use bare minerals which I also love, but I switched it up to just one cover-up just to simplify.

Share Your Thoughts

