Skip to content

The Pup’s First Hike: Snake Mountain

June 28, 2011

The new pup has been adjusting so well over the past week, so on Sunday afternoon we decided to test him out on his first real hike. We packed our snacks, laced up our hiking shoes, and lured him into the car with some pupporoni.

.

Snake Mountain in Addison, Vermont is a great moderate, half day hike. We spent about 2 hours climbing up with plenty of puppy water breaks, and Katie camera breaks along the way.

{Hunter giving me some love at the summit}

{the whole crew at the summit}

{tiny red spotted newts}

{my friend checking out some great trees}

{A lost dog followed us up and down the mountain. He was great company for us and Hunter, and thankfully we found his house when we reached the bottom}

{My Muddy Merrells}

.I love checking out new environments with my camera because I take in so much more of my surroundings than I normally would. The entire day my eye was searching for light, lines, composition, and color. Photography really transforms how I view the world around me.

.

It was such a great day and another item checked off my summer bucket list, although I’d still like to tackle a couple larger mountains sometime soon.

.

Do you enjoy hiking or is not your first choice of outdoor activity? For me it’s a toss up between a strenuous hike, and parking my butt at the beach. Both are easily my favorite ways to soak in some Vitamin D.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 10:07 am

    Although I am a total beach girl, I love hiking. Last summer I went to Acadia National Park in Maine and it was stunning. There’s a few small hills outside of Philadelphia, and it is so much fun to take the dog!

    • Katie permalink*
      June 28, 2011 10:08 pm

      I’ve heard great things about Acadia! My friends and I are looking for a good spot to go hiking this summer, I might try to look into that park.

  2. Dad permalink
    June 28, 2011 11:22 am

    Fantastic pics Katie…..but don’t let Bayley see Hunter kissing you like that!!!

  3. June 28, 2011 5:36 pm

    Hiking for sure!

    The photos are great–you are doing great. Always look for a different perspective and use your manual settings! (if you have a dSLR)

    • June 28, 2011 9:53 pm

      Thanks for your kind words about my photos! I do use my manual setting, I’ve finally really gotten used to it and prefer it over any of the other settings!

Trackbacks

  1. The Gift of an Ordinary Day « KatieDid

Share Your Thoughts

