Skip to content

Showing Bacon Some Love

June 29, 2011

If you glance to the right of this post, you’ll notice in the “about me” blurb under my face that I’m a self- proclaimed bacon enthusiast. Well it’s time to finally show bacon some love on this blog, considering it’s only made an appearance one or two times thus far. If you know me in person, you know it makes more than just an appearance or two in my daily life, so why not give it the attention it deserves on the blog too.

.

I’ve become much more of a savory breakfast gal over the past several months or so. Sometimes I eat tuna, tomato and mozzarella, or big salads with chicken first thing in the morning. But most days I just have eggs, veggies, and bacon. Today was one of those days, but I decided to switch it up from my usual omelet creation to try out one of my all time favorite food combinations: bacon and sweet potatoes. Salty and sweet, a classic duo.

.

Don’t knock this combo just yet, have you tried it?! I know HEAB loves it too! I often microwave a sweet potato, cook up some bacon and a couple eggs and pile them together for an easy dinner. But who says I can’t have it for breakfast too?

Sweet Potato and Bacon Pancake 

  • 1/2 large sweet potato (or 1 small)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp coconut flour (you could use oats or another flour as well)
  • 1 strip bacon, cooked and chopped
  • splash of milk
  • S+P to taste

Microwave your sweet potato for about 4 minutes or until soft. Meanwhile cook the bacon in a pan until crispy. In a bowl whisk one egg and add the scooped out sweet potato mash, coconut flour, cut up bacon pieces, milk, and any spices you wish to use.

Add some butter to the pan, or use the bacon grease you just cooked up and scoop the mixture into a flat pancake, pressing down to even it out.

Cook for 2-3 minutes or until browned on each side. I topped mine off with tahini and some plain yogurt. It was yum! You could try adding some melted butter to the mix or oil of some kind for an even moister pancake. 

.

But that’s not all the bacon love that’s been happening around here lately. The other day my Dad sent me an early birthday package with a few fun gifts, and one of them is definetely blog worthy….

{Bacon scented candle}

Odd, yes. Brilliant, definetely! Now when I’m clean out of bacon, or baconed- out (highly unlikely), I can just light the candle and bask in it’s yummy aroma!

.

Next on my bacon agenda is some birthday bacon brownies!

.

Do you love, hate, or not eat bacon? Any delicious combos I should try with it? 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 10:08 am

    Haha – the bacon candle. That is great, and a bacon/egg/sweet potato pancake topped with tahini? Even better! 🙂

    One of my friends recently made bacon maple cupcakes for her husband’s birthday, and they were a huge hit.

  2. June 29, 2011 10:12 am

    I definitely just laughed out loud at your bacon candle. That is so great. I don’t even like bacon (I know, I’m sorry!) but I love candles, so that gets my approval 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear how the bacon brownies turn out!

  3. June 29, 2011 10:12 am

    Try bacon with chocolate. Or peanut butter. Or Maple syrup. Or all three together. You really can’t go wrong with bacon, can you? Your pancake looks deliiiicious!

    • June 29, 2011 12:11 pm

      Bacon and peanut butter… I must try that! Maybe I’ll make peanut butter/ chocolate/ bacon brownies for my birthday. That sounds like heaven to me, thanks for the inspiration!

  4. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    June 29, 2011 1:05 pm

    I love bacon! and oh my goodness, a bacon candle?!

  5. Carolyn Murphy permalink
    June 29, 2011 8:15 pm

    Happy Birthday Eve Katie! Grammy and Grampy were 2 bacon lovers! On a Saturday night, Gram would line up as many pieces of bread as she could fit on her biggest cookie sheet, toast them on one side under the broiler,, flip them over, layer on sliced tomatoes, cooked bacon, and slices of VELVEETA (!). She broiled till the velveeta melted, and all 7 of us gobbled them up. Most folks don’t use Velveeta these days, but it did taste good! Love, Auntie KK

  6. June 29, 2011 11:47 pm

    What a fantastic idea for a sweet potato pancake! I’m definitely going to make that! I love bacon and cracked up at the bacon candle!!!

  7. June 30, 2011 9:47 am

    I don’t eat in anymore, but I think a bacon and brussel sprouts make a great combo.

    • Katie permalink*
      June 30, 2011 9:58 am

      I also love that combo! I’ll fry bacon and then add in brussels and onions and cook it all together.

  8. June 30, 2011 8:46 pm

    I know that my girl Jessica over at How Sweet It Is would LOVE you right now. 😀

  9. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 1, 2011 10:51 am

    Ohmgosh I love this! I have some leftover bacon and sweet potato right now…..Lunch!

    I like bacon….but I can only eat a piece or two at a time. It is very heavy. But give some bacon to my brother and sister and they will inhale 20+ pieces at a time…and then go workout! Crazy, I know!

    • July 1, 2011 10:23 pm

      Haha yeah young kids always seem to have stomachs of steel when it comes to that sort of stuff. I can assure you I didn’t head out for a jog right after that pancake, but it was delicious!

Share Your Thoughts

