Skip to content

Love on My Birthday

July 2, 2011

No recipe today, running tip, or even gorgeous picture of something delicious. This is more of a dedicated post to my friends and family for making this birthday unbelievable for me. Love.

.

The day before my birthday, my Mom made the 3 hour drive north to spend the afternoon with me. She surprised me with the cutest picnic/ wine cooler stuffed with the most precious gifts. We grabbed lunch downtown, shopped and chatted. We grocery shopped too, yes I’m still young enough to have my mom buy me food. And just thoroughly enjoyed the day together. Love.

I came home to find my roommates decorating and baking up a storm. After they shoved me in a room so they could finish, I got to see the final product. Enter the bacon cupcakes I teased you with. Gin and tonics, wine, balloons, and chocolate and so much love.

.

As the clock struck midnight we were already en route to downtown where we went to one of our favorite bars. Although I had already been, it was much more special using my own i.d., ahemm. Sorry Mom. My friends bought be some drinks, and I found out I really loved green olives. And I really really loved chips and salsa. But I already knew that.

.

Flash forward to the next morning, where we somehow pulled it together enough to go on quite the adventure. It was a perfect way to spend my birthday. Being outdoors with my friends and Hunter, taking pictures, and soaking in every last moment.

We drove up to Smuggler’s Notch and hiked the Sterling trail up to a pond area near the summit. It was a challenging hike, but so much fun. The pup wanted to turn back a few times but we finally made it, and the ice cold pond and beautiful foggy mountains surrounding us were quite the reward.

{Christmas card 2011 😉 }

We stopped for some Ben and Jerry’s (late night snack and chunky monkey mmmmhhmmm) before hitting the road.

{Our little child asleep on the ride home after an exhausting day}

We stopped at the store for the barbecue essentials and after a quick turn around we were lighting the charcoal and setting up the badminton net.

{Friends came and good food was enjoyed.}

{Barbeque chicken and veggie skewers. Cheeseburgers. The smell of charcoal burning. Love.}

We played badminton until the sun set and we couldn’t see our own rackets in front of our faces. We packed up and called it a night just as the rain began to fill the sky. The whole two days were completely filled with good people, laughter, food, and tons of love.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 11:15 am

    I love your photos! These looks like two perfect days if you ask me 🙂

  2. July 2, 2011 9:43 pm

    Happy BDAY KAtie!!!!!!!

    your photos are awesome and hopefully your day was as good in person as it looks here 🙂

    • Katie permalink*
      July 3, 2011 12:16 am

      Thank you so much. Pictures and words can only do a day so much justice, it was great 🙂

  3. July 3, 2011 8:56 am

    YAYAYAYA for july birthdays!! You and me are so close…aren’t summa’ babies the best:) I’m glad you got to spend time with your mama and have a grand time with her, gahh that’s always the best! (me and my mom do a similar thing on my bday too!) and holy cow..bacon cupcakes!! What AMAZING roomates!! haha i love green olives too..so random! anyway glad you had an awesome day, you are so so pretty girlie!! *and that pup…ahh!! so cute! i love you:)

    • July 3, 2011 5:30 pm

      Thank you so much, but YOUR gorgeous 🙂 Summer birthdays are the best by far, I can’t imagine not having one. Happy early birthday to you too!!

  4. July 3, 2011 3:31 pm

    i miss you love! wish i coulda enjoyed all this food, beverage and shenanagans with ya, happy, happy bday!

Share Your Thoughts

