Skip to content

Easy Cheesy {Grain Free} Pizza Crust

July 5, 2011

‘Oh my pizza, I love you so… your tangy sauce, your crusty dough.’

Anyone from 4th grade recall that lovely chorus song we performed? Maybe that was when my love affair with pizza began. On second thought, probably not. But somewhere along the line I fell in love.
.

When I had to switch over to a gluten free diet, the one thing that really, really killed me was the whole pizza thing. I could do without glutenous beer, and the gluten free bread wasn’t that bad, so I told myself. But a gooey slice of pizza after a night out with friends, or a tangy barbeque chicken personal pizza for a treat once and a while…

I tried Amy’s Rice Crust Pizza and it sufficed. I also tried making my own crust from a special flour mix that shall not be named. That one did not suffice. So I wrote off pizza for a while… 9 months, but whose counting.

.

Then yesterday, I dusted off my pizza stone (okay I don’t have one but it works in the story) and got to work on this recipe. I wanted a recipe that did not include yeast or anything fancy. Something straight to the point, that would actually hold a topping or two when I picked it up. Having to eat your slice with a knife and fork is only okay when the slice is too big to hold in both hands.

.

Easy Cheesy {Grain Free} Pizza Crust

Adapted from this recipe, I am elated with how this recipe came out. It will definitely be my go-to crust recipe for quite some time. Her version says that it serves 2-4, but I’m hoping by 2-4 she meant 1 because I ate it all in one sitting. It was that good. 

.

  • 1 cup freshly grated mozzarella cheese
  • 5 oz fresh or frozen spinach (about half of a salad bag)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut flour
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax seeds (flax meal)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or other spices you prefer)
  • topping and sauce of your choice

.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Grate the your cheese in a food processor or by hand.

Cook the spinach on the stove top for 1-2 minutes until wilted and then wring out in a paper towel until nearly dry.

Whisk the eggs in a bowl and add all of the other ingredients. Mix well. 

On a parchment lined cookie sheet spread the mixture into a crust shape about 1/4 inch thick. 

Cook for 30 minutes, flipping half way through. I used another sheet of parchment paper on top to flip it over. 

Top with your desired toppings. I chose pizza sauce, sauteed mushrooms and onions, and feta cheese. Bake or broil for another 2-3 minutes. 

Let cool and enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. melissa permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:19 pm

    Hi Katie, I just found your blog through someone else’s (who I can’t remember now…)!
    This looks delicious! I’ve always wanted to try to make my own pizza from scratch, but unfortunately we don’t keep flax or coconut flour around the house.

    • July 5, 2011 6:03 pm

      Thanks for commenting, glad you came across my blog 🙂 I’m sure you could sub in another type of flour. I happened to have those two on hand but if you did 4 Tbsp of another type it might have the same effect on the consistency. It’s worth giving it a shot!

  2. July 5, 2011 2:36 pm

    you must have been sent. from up above. to fill my heart. with pizza love

    • July 5, 2011 6:04 pm

      (… pizza loveeeee) I knew someone would remember! HA T.Hines had a great baritone on that one.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 5, 2011 6:07 pm

    This looks soooo yummy! Too bad I don’t eat cheese 😦

    I have tried some gluten-free crusts, but I like grain-free better. Socca (garbanzo) is great as a pizza crust. Meatzas are fun…I’ve also heard about making taco crust out of cauliflower? Have yet to try that one.

    • July 5, 2011 9:11 pm

      hmm I’ve never heard of that actually, but it sounds interesting. I told myself once I get through all the random flours I have now that I can buy garbanzo and try the socca!

  4. July 7, 2011 8:16 am

    I’m so glad you posted this! My boyfriend has been having problems with gluten lately so we bought the Bob’s Flour Mill package of gluten free pizza dough flour last night, which was good, but I’d like to experiment. 🙂

    • July 7, 2011 3:56 pm

      I have yet to try that mix out but I’ve been disappointed with some others unfortunately. Let me know if you give this recipe a go, and what you think of it! I think you’ll like it and it holds together so much better than other crusts I’ve tried.

  5. July 23, 2011 12:07 pm

    OMG! I have to make this!!!!!!!!! It looks ammmmmmmazing.

Share Your Thoughts

