Skip to content

The Easiest Tastiest Gluten Free S’more

July 8, 2011

I drove home a few days ago to enjoy the 4th with family and friends. July in particular is the the perfect time for a casual backyard BBQ complete with burgers, veggies, summer fruit, and of course s’mores. I didn’t have to miss out on a crumb of food due to my gluten intolerance thanks to a little creativity.

.

Just because you need to avoid gluten does not mean you need to miss out on the  summertime tradition of roasting marshmallows over an open campfire, smooshing the pillowy goodness between crispy crackers and melted chocolate. If you love chocolate, can’t eat gluten, or just want to eat an insanely delicious treat on a warm summer evening, look no further….

.


How To Make a Gluten Free S’More:

Step 1: Grab yourself a marshmallow that is 4 times the average size. Stick it on a particularly short skewer just to keep things interesting. (Ours happened to be GF but check the ingredients, particularly modified food starch)

Step 2: Sit in super close to the flame and try to keep the weight of the ‘mallow from snapping the toothpick. Turn slowly for a perfect golden hue.

Step 3: Try to avoid this. Unless your one of the strange folk who would rather eat crispy charred sugar than a perfectly toasted gooey goodness. My opinion only of course.

See? You can’t say that doesn’t look particularly delicious. The one on the left that is.

.

Step 4: My hands got much too sticky to capture a photo of this next step, but upon reaching the perfect toasted state, grab a whole chocolate bar and snap in half. Sandwich the ‘mallow in between each half and smoosh into a melty blissful treat.

.

You’ll make all your graham cracker eating friends insanely jealous. They may laugh at the puddles of chocolate and melted marshmallow that will inevitably  wind up covering 3/4ths of your body, but I promise you won’t miss those graham crackers.

.

Any creative ways you have made s’mores before? Anyone add PB or other strange combinations? Burnt or perfectly golden?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 10:27 am

    Oh my god, I bet peanut butter would taste incredible. Good idea! If PB and fluff sandwiches work (PB and chocolate always work, of course) then I don’t see why the three wouldn’t be perfect together. Bananas are also great in s’mores, because they get that amazing caramelized flavor going.

    And as for my marshmallows…I like them on the verge of burnt, but definitely not charred! 🙂

    • July 9, 2011 7:29 am

      Banana! I’m doing this asap. I’ve also heard of wrapping a banana and chocolate and any other toppings you like in tinfoil and roasting it directly over a campfire for a caramilzed treat. Sound delicious to me!

  2. July 8, 2011 11:07 am

    Oh my gosh those marshmallows are HUGE! They look so good. I think the most creative I’ve ever gotten with s’mores is simply to add fresh strawberry into the middle along with the chocolate and marshmallow. It was delicious 🙂

  3. July 8, 2011 11:28 am

    Nothing is better than a toasted marshmallow. Seriously–yum!

  4. July 9, 2011 9:24 pm

    What a great idea! Peanut butter would be amazing. I definitely burn my marshmallows to crisp…thats the best way to eat ’em!

Share Your Thoughts

