Skip to content

When An Uncomfortable Life is a Happy One

July 15, 2011

Some friday inspiration

“Somewhere along the line we seem to have confused comfort with happiness.” – Dean Karnazes

Yes I prefer a simple life but I also keep this quote in the back of my mind. Simple is different than stagnant, and that’s something I never want my life to be. It’s when we take risks and scary leaps of faith that we often surprise ourselves with what we can accomplish.

They don’t have to be huge risks, it can be as small as getting a fun haircut, trying a different workout routine, or going out with friends more often… but all these changes and risks keep your life moving forward, and that’s the goal.

.

Challenging hikes, finishing a marathon, choosing to live away from home, taking on a second new job, cooking with different ingredients, giving up shampoo, pursuing my love of photography……

.

What will you do this weekend to get out of your comfort zone? 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 2:56 pm

    “It’s when we take risks and scary leaps of faith that we often surprise ourselves with what we can accomplish.”–This says exactly how I feel right now. I recently left my desk job to start my own company. Some people saw this as a radical mistake, but I saw it as an opportunity to be truly happy and focus more on what’s important to me in life. I hope to continue to pursue my simple (but not stagnant) life! That’s for the post, it helped give me a boost of encouragement.

    • July 15, 2011 11:26 pm

      That’s truly inspiring to hear! I’m glad you found the post encouraging. Best of luck with your business pursuits 🙂

  2. July 15, 2011 3:35 pm

    I love the idea that simple doesn’t equal stagnant! Small risks are a great way to keep growing!*

  3. July 15, 2011 5:04 pm

    Love this post! So much of that is too true!

  4. July 15, 2011 5:28 pm

    This was really inspiring and a nice reminder! Love it 🙂

  5. July 15, 2011 6:38 pm

    I’m naturally a very anxiety-ridden person, so I get extra stressed when things don’t pan out in a way that makes me comfortable. That quote, and YOU, are inspiring me to challenge myself. I definitely think I confuse comfort with happiness sometimes. A lot of the time when I go out of my comfort zone, I end up having a good time, so there’s proof right there! Thanks for this! I’ll have to figure out a way to get out of my comfort zone this weekend. 🙂

    • July 15, 2011 10:59 pm

      Thanks for your sweet comment! Hope you have a great weekend with whatever you decide to take on 🙂

  6. July 15, 2011 10:30 pm

    I’m going to the cottage with a bunch of friends – I didn’t know if I wanted to have a low key weekend or do cottage – I went with cottage!

    • July 15, 2011 10:58 pm

      That sounds like a ton of fun, I hope it’s a great weekend and good for you for picking the one that might push you out of your comfort zone a bit more!

  7. July 16, 2011 11:08 pm

    Oooh i like that quote!! This weekend I stepped out of my comfort zone by going on my longest run since I have been cleared to run again.. and I was successful! Woohoo!!

Trackbacks

  1. This Weekend I… « KatieDid
  2. The Gift of an Ordinary Day « KatieDid

Share Your Thoughts

