Skip to content

Taking Butter Into My Own Hands

July 18, 2011
tags:

I found myself eggless and butterless this morning, and lost as a blind bat without my favorite dynamic duo. So what’s a girl in the 21st century to do when she’s faced with such a predicament? Churn her own of course! (and run to the store for eggs…)

.

I’ve been meaning to try it out for a while now after seeing it on this wonderful blog, so no time like the present day to churn some good old fashion salted butter.

.

A pint of heavy whipping cream. Two sealing jars. A pair of biceps. Some salt and herbs if desired. Simple simple…

/

I poured half of the whipping cream in each jar and shook for a couple minutes until I felt the liquid firm into a whipped cream. Add a bit of sugar now to make whipped cream, but I wanted to take it a step further.

.

Scoop out the cream in a deep bowl and with an electric or standing mixer, mix until the whey separates from the solid butter (which happens quickly). If your incredibly smart like I am, you can use a shallow bowl so that whey splatters across half your kitchen and beyond. Just a warning.

.

Drain out the liquid and voila, homemade butter! Add a bit of salt and any other spices you like.

I made honey, garlic, tarragon, and salted butter.

.

I would say that this was so much fun that I’ll never buy butter again, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. In fact it was more expensive than just buying the sticks, and obviously more time intensive. But once in a while it is fun to roll up my sleeves and take matters butter into my own hands.

.

What’s something you prefer homemade over store-bought despite the time and effort it takes?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 8:46 pm

    Ah man, you did it better than I did! LOL, next time I’ll try your method. I put some honey and brown sugar in one of mine and left the rest just natural with a bit of salt.

  2. July 19, 2011 9:38 am

    I prefer hummus homemade, but guiltily, I usually buy it at the store! And it’s so easy to make! I’ve never made my own butter though. Kudos to you for that! It actually sounds kind of fun.

  3. July 19, 2011 10:04 am

    I had no idea it was that easy to make!

    The one thing I make; that I could buy, would be…..Caesar salad dressing!

  4. Casey permalink
    July 19, 2011 10:30 am

    I love homemade ice cream! We always used to make it at my parents’ house for a special picnic treat, and it’s so cold and creamy and delicious! 🙂

    • Katie permalink*
      July 19, 2011 11:18 am

      I wish I owned an ice cream maker, things would get a little crazy delicious around here. My roommate works at an ice cream place, and right now we have a 6 gallon bucket of ice cream in our freezer to get through! haha

  5. The Real Food Mama permalink
    July 19, 2011 1:08 pm

    Love love love making homemade Whipped Cream!! My fav!! (http://therealfoodmama.com/2011/07/11/homemade-whipped-cream-w-fresh-berries/)

    This butter looks yummy too!!

  6. July 19, 2011 7:31 pm

    That butter looks so delicious!!! One thing that we always take the time to make is pasta sauce. My husband is Italian and I learned how to make sauce from his grandmother!

  7. July 20, 2011 5:49 am

    I never would have thought to make butter at home. My favorite homemade things are chili, meatloaf, and apple pie.

  8. July 20, 2011 8:55 am

    Lately I’m digging homemade granola.

  9. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 20, 2011 4:53 pm

    Oh my gosh!!! How amazing!!! Who knew it was so easy? Approximately how long did it take you to make it?

    • July 20, 2011 5:30 pm

      I was so surprised with how easy it was too. I shook it in the two jars for less than 3 minutes and it thickened into whipped cream. I transferred it to a bowl and mixed it with the beaters for between 1-2 minutes. Drained off the whey and it was done. I’ve read somewhere it took an hour to shake but mine went soooo quickly. I think splitting into the two jars is key so it has more room to shake around. Sooo, other than picture taking etc., it’s less than 10 min.

Share Your Thoughts

