Skip to content

How To Go ‘Poo-Less’

July 20, 2011

That’s shampoo less…

It all started nearly a month ago. I can’t remember how I came across an article about going poo-less, but I decided then and there I would give it an effort with nothing to lose but my frizzy unruly locks of love.

.

Thats sort of exaggerating, I’ve always liked my hair. But after reading several accounts of how ditching shampoo (and conditioner) made one’s hair more natural and controlled looking, I was sold.

.

So I stopped cold turkey. It wasn’t that hard really, just quit using the suds. Your scalp will slowly stop producing as much oil because your not drying it out with harsh detergents (shampoo is a detergent and dries out the scalp).

.

Since then I’ve done maybe 4 baking soda and apple cider vinegar cleanses:

  • Mix 1 Tbsp baking soda in a cup of water and stir well. Apply about half of this mixture directly your scalp and work in for a minute or two. Rinse clean. This washes away any build up.
  • Pour a bit of ACV into the palm of your hand and work through the ends of your hair. Rinse clean. This untangles your roots. I do this step about every other day now just to keep things smoothed out.
  • So Simple. I’ve repeated this about once a week.

.

I’ve stopped using mousse, which was my life savior before going poo-less. I’ve had multiple compliments over the past few weeks about my hair being curlier and more natural looking. I don’t think I’ll ever turn back.

.

Call me a dirty hippy but it works.

.

Would you be brave enough to give up shampoo? 


11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 8:52 am

    It’s summer, so what the heck I’ll try. I have naturally greasy roots, so I don’t know how long I’ll last. Thanks for the suggestion for an easy rinse. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    • July 20, 2011 9:28 am

      Yay! If you have naturally greasy hair (which I do not) you may like to do the baking soda cleanse more than once a week. And experiment with a ratio that works well for your hair. Let me know if you like it! It took me a couple weeks to notice a difference, so give it time.

  2. July 20, 2011 11:23 am

    What if your hair is totally lifeless and flat? Haha. Does this help tame frizzy hair or add volume to flat weighed-down hair? Or both? I guess I just have to try to find out!

    • July 20, 2011 1:51 pm

      I’ve read over several accounts of going shampoo-less and its worked for a variety of hair types it seems. I think in general the idea is, you stop the drying out/ over producing oil cycle to just let your natural texture come through. If it adds body to curls I’m sure it would eventually add body to straight hair also after the transition period. Give it a try!

  3. thebeautyowl permalink
    July 20, 2011 12:53 pm

    I have hair that goes just past my shoulder blades so it gets weighed down fairly easily, do you think the whole no ‘poo thing will help my hair? I was looking at this about a month ago but I’m quite afraid of the transition period, I think it’ll be worth it though 🙂

    • July 20, 2011 1:48 pm

      My hair is also past my shoulder blades and usually the longer it gets, the less curly it gets. But it’s been much much tighter curls since letting go of the shampoo. It’s definitely worth a try and you can do the baking soda cleanse after just a few days if it gets too greasy for you. There is definitely a transition period, mine took about 3 weeks, but now there is much much less grease with just washing it once/ week.

  4. July 20, 2011 3:53 pm

    Hmm I might do this.. i just hate washing my hair to tell you the truth. Though I love the feeling of conditioner. The problem is that my hair gets really nasty from running and i don’t know how going “poo” less would go over with that!

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 20, 2011 4:46 pm

    I actually want to do this. I’m a bit afraid because I have completely flat and thin hair that gets super greasy if I don’t wash it for one day. It would be great if the grease goes away! I’m gonna try it…I think….I will…I hope….gosh this is a hard decision!

    • July 20, 2011 5:27 pm

      Hahaha your too funny. It’s worth a shot! My hair is not naturally greasy so I don’t personally have experience with that but you can always resort to headbands and hats for a week while you adjust.. Let me know if you try it out!

  6. July 20, 2011 6:26 pm

    Heck yes I’d give up the poo’! I hardly wash my hair as it is..sometimes I really need a good wash though. I would be curious to see how my hair works with this awesome concoction you have posted!

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Sliders-Guest Post « Spoonful of Sugar Free

Share Your Thoughts

