Skip to content

How to Eat (Gluten Free) for 2 Dollars a Day

July 26, 2011

When my brother lived in Prague for a few months last year he often went days only eating rice, as he spent his last dollars on traveling through Europe and dodging a few near death experiences… This makes it sound like he’s a neglected child but that’s really not the case, he can just make do with very little and doesn’t mind a good stroke of hunger every now and then. He was also the same brother who challenged my younger brother to fast for 7 days to prove he could handle Marine training.

{So happy for food…}
.

My brothers are a little radical, but they both survived these stunts of hunger and even said they felt great after the initial 3 days of intense fatigue and headaches. Sure.

.

Now I’m not about to tell you I’ve been living on only eggs for a week (although that’s not far from the truth), but I did give myself a bit of a challenge over the past few days…

,

Sine I’ll be leaving Wednesday morning to drive home for jury duty, I’ve put off buying groceries for about 4 days. It doesn’t sound like a long time until you realize thats 12 meals and all you have is some tuna and some frozen vegetables.

.

But I like a good challenge. It must run in the family.

.

Of course there was that lovely Sunday brunch out with friends…..oh yeah and going out for (half priced!) burgers the night before. But other than that I’ve been roughing it, and have had to get a little creative in the process.

.

<   

.

How to Eat (Gluten Free) for 2 Dollars a Day  

  • Meal 1: 3 Eggs cooked in butter, lots of brown rice, coffee ($.40 cents)
  • Meal 2: Can of tuna with mustard, frozen broccoli cooked in butter, spoonfuls of tahini until satisfied ($1.20)
  • Meal 3: 3 Eggs cooked in butter, more frozen vegetables, lots of brown rice ($.50 cents)
  • Meal 4: Soft serve with sprinkles from your roommate who works at an ice cream shop. (Priceless… literally)

The key here is butter. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, everything tastes better with butter. And it’ll keep you more satisfied. Maybe it’ll even distract you from missing that whole avocado and dark chocolate you can’t seem to go a day without… oh wait, just me?

,.

*Not recommended unless your traveling around Europe, trying to prove something to your cool older brother, or are just too cheap to go grocery shopping. With that said, I’m looking forward to a few hearty (free) meals at home.

.

Have you ever had to ration food or go hungry for an extended period of time? 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 11:00 am

    Your brothers sound hilarious. My brother is almost three years younger than I am, and we’ve finally reached that stage where we’re both old enough to hang out with each other without feeling like we’re in different worlds. Brothers are great! As for trying to ration food…”try” is the keyword for me. Sometimes I’ll challenge myself to not go to the market for a few days, and eat what I already have in the kitchen, but I rarely succeed!

    • July 26, 2011 7:37 pm

      Yes I have three brothers and I agree, we’ve finallllly all reached those ages and the little time we do get to spend together we cherish a lot more. And they are the funniest people I know!
      Yeah I somehow end up spending more when I try to ration (usually, not this time though) because I just run to the store for this or that or end up eating out.

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 26, 2011 2:40 pm

    Wow. You ate a lot of rice and eggs! haha….nothing wrong with that 😀

    And thankfully, i have never had to go hungry 😀

  3. July 26, 2011 3:20 pm

    I loved this!! When I’m at college, the closest grocery store is an expensive Whole Foods wannabe. Therefore, I refuse to shop there unless I’m in DIRE need. Otherwise, I just wait until I have time to drive out a little further and get everything I need for much cheaper. I definitely what it’s like to rely on canned tuna!

  4. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    July 26, 2011 5:01 pm

    Awesome post 🙂
    Cutting out wheat for me has been pretty expensive thus far (who would’ve thought) but I need to start buying more fresh ingredients and less brown rice bread.. haha

    • July 26, 2011 7:41 pm

      Yes gluten free eating can tend to be much more expensive which you wouldn’t originally think, but substitutes are often pricey. And even eating say a sweet potato instead of a couple slices of wheat bread is much more expensive too!

  5. July 26, 2011 8:00 pm

    I’ve tried to ration myself, as in not go to the grocery store, for a week or so before I go for holiday!

    Also….remember when you made butter?? I loved that post. Very cool.

    • July 26, 2011 8:53 pm

      Haha yes, and thank god I made that or else I’d be eating some pretty bland food right now.

  6. July 27, 2011 9:12 am

    Well ive moved tons and each time before i move i try not to groc shop and eat down the pantry. Which creates some very interesting dinner combos. lol

  7. July 27, 2011 10:41 am

    “spoonfuls of tahini until satisfied” – haa! I love this.

    I’m with Averie, I do things like this when moving or leaving for vacation – the hardest part is fresh produce because I eat so much of it daily… I know how to buy for a day’s worth pretty well, though 😀

  8. sarahsmodernbites permalink
    July 27, 2011 12:35 pm

    Hi Katie! it sounds like you and your family have a lot of fun together! I’m sure there are a lot of laughs it that is a wonderful thing to have!
    I actually think your eggs, butter, rice and frozen veggie meals sound pretty awesome. I would totally eat that over and over even if I didn’t have to… though I feel you on missing the avocado. That would kill me.
    Like Averie I have moved a lot but rather than being good and eating through the pantry I opted for going out/take-out and ended up donating my unopened pantry items and taking the rest with me…. which led me to think why I buy so much anyway?? I often buy ingredients I only need for one particular way and then forget I have it. I need to challenge myself to use all the random stuff I have!!

    • July 27, 2011 2:09 pm

      Yes I’ve been going through lots of random things I wouldn’t have normally used up like lots of random grains, and all those cans of tuna. It’s good to clean things out every now and then!

Share Your Thoughts

