Skip to content

13 Miles Out

August 1, 2011

I had a beautiful weekend with friends, visiting the tiny island I called home for the past three summers.
But life sure is different 13 miles out…

A typical summer job is nannying children at the beach day in and day out. Yes, I’m jealous of her life. Although it was eye opening; seeing how difficult just getting out the door was with children under the age of 9.

13 miles out… there is the best sushi I’ve ever eaten. Freshly grilled swordfish, spicy red pepper, scallions, avocado.

There is barely a sense of time when your distracted by this view and best friends to dine with.

The sunsets are fierce and burn in the sky.

Margaritas are sipped anytime, as it always seems to be 5 o’ clock.

And dancing into the morning is the only competitive sport around.

Beach days are drawn out into the evenings until the sand cools off and you can make it back to the car without burning your feet.

Riding in the back of pickup trucks is a preferred mode of transportation.

And the pace of life is slow.

.

I miss that island dearly, and it’s strange how life just ticks on when your away. Work to catch up on, gas tanks to fill, and groceries to be bought. Back to Vermont tomorrow!

.

Where is your ‘happy place’? Where no matter what’s going on in life you can escape to and not have a care in the world.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    August 1, 2011 8:47 am

    Beautiful photos 🙂

    My “happy place” is probably down on Key Biscayne beach in South Florida. The scenery is too beautiful for words– especially being there and taking it all in by yourself

    Happy Monday, girl!

  2. August 1, 2011 8:52 am

    my happy place is Aruba!

    These pics of yours are beautiful and so happy you’re in YOUR happy place right now!

  3. August 1, 2011 11:15 am

    I don’t think I have a physical happy place. If I’m surrounded by people I love, then I’m in a happy place! It looks like you had an amazing weekend. That’s what summer is all about!

  4. August 1, 2011 11:44 am

    Looks like a very fun trip!

  5. August 1, 2011 12:03 pm

    Your trip looks like it was so much fun! The sushi looks delicious, and I absolutely love that picture with the starfish! I haven’t been to my happy place in ages, but it’s Cape Hatteras in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. There are no distractions and everything is just so peaceful. When someone tells me to “close my eyes and think of my happy place” I always imagine myself on the front porch swing, reading books with my mom, eating a peanut butter and banana sandwich, and enjoying the sea breeze!

  6. August 1, 2011 12:31 pm

    wow at that sushi!

  7. August 1, 2011 12:35 pm

    Golly! Your pictures make me CRAVE a good beach vacation! It looks like you had a fantastic time! That sunset picture is MAGICAL!

    My “happy place” is Rockport, MA. It is such a quaint little town with lovely seaside breezes.

    • Katie permalink*
      August 1, 2011 12:39 pm

      My hometown is so close to Rockport, we used to go there all the time growing up! It is a gorgeous seaside town.

  8. August 1, 2011 4:23 pm

    beautiful pictures! you have the most beautiful beach-y looking hair! my “happy place” is anywhere with the ocean in front of me 🙂

  9. August 1, 2011 8:57 pm

    Your pictures are stunning 🙂

  10. August 2, 2011 11:24 am

    Your pictures captured your beach day beautifully! And that sushi roll looks so delicious! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

