Skip to content

9 Do’s and 1 Don’t for Bacon Grease

August 3, 2011

There are few better smelling things in the world than bacon frying up on a Sunday morning… and one of them is garlic sauteeing in bacon grease on a Tuesday evening… but that’s besides the point.

.

Oh wait, no its not…. this post is entirely about all things good in the world that result from a little bacon grease love.

.

When I arrived home last week, my younger brother proudly boasted that there was some thick center cut bacon waiting for me in the fridge, and that he had saved the bacon grease for ‘other stuff’. (I’ve taught him well.) But as we pondered what ‘other stuff’ to use said bacon grease for, I figured others may have a similar dilemma. Although a container of bacon grease is hardly a dilemma if you ask me…

..

If you’ve ever cooked up bacon you know that quite a bit of grease is created, and this is commonly something people save for later use. In fact you may have grown up in a home that kept the renderings in a tin Folgers can on the stove top. We didn’t, but no time like the present to start traditions.

.

Bacon grease keeps practically indefinitely in the fridge, and if you eat enough bacon (me! me!) it can accumulate quickly… p.s. it’s the same calories as olive oil if your counting, but in my opinion adds worlds more flavor. And if your eating bacon, well then you’re probably not counting calories in the first place.

So here you go, if you’re having the same ‘dilemma’ that we were… 9 Do’s and 1 Don’t for Bacon Grease

Fry eggs in it. They crisp up perfectly and hold a hint of smoky flavor.

Drizzle over popcorn and add some smoked paprika or cayenne pepper.

Roast sweet potato fries in it for a perfect crispy texture.

Add a spoonful to homemade dressings.

Use as part of the oil for a mean chex mix. (Great way to make friends at a party)

Mix some into pasta or rice and add veggies or cheese as an alternative to butter.

Season your cast iron skillet with it. Just don’t tell the vegetarians why that veggie stir fry tasted so good…

On that note, sauté up or roast veggies in it.

Rub on chicken or other meat before grilling or baking for a depth of flavor.

Whatever you do, don’t throw it down the drain. Oh an also don’t pour it piping hot into a plastic container….

oops…

;

Do you save bacon grease? How have you used it in cooking before?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 3, 2011 3:44 pm

    My family are huge bacon eaters. They can go threw a costco-sized package in one sitting. That’s like 10 huge slices per person-they’re crazy. I would throw up if I ate that many….but anyway, all that bacon creates a whole lot of grease! (just curious, do you cook yours in the oven or on a skillet like the picture?)….I feel ridiculous saying this, but I always throw it away! Oh the shame…..But now I know what to do, thanks! The paprika popcorn idea sounds amazing!

    • August 3, 2011 4:55 pm

      I always cook mine on my cast iron (which isn’t in the picture above because I didn’t bring it home with me). I never clean my cast iron because the grease seasons it each time I cook. Don’t throw it out! It adds so much flavor and is just like any other cooking fat!

  2. ittybitsofbalance permalink
    August 3, 2011 4:40 pm

    My dad saves bacon grease and freezes it in the freezer. A few days later we have grease popsicles 🙂

    Okay TOTALLY kidding (about the popsicles part, not the freezing haha)

  3. Auntie KK permalink
    August 3, 2011 8:08 pm

    Katie, you got me thinking of Grampie’s method of saving the bacon grease…. – he’d pour it into the empty cardboard frozen o.j. container, purposely left on the counter that morning for the bacon grease disposal. Problem was.. (think cold water mixed with hot fat)….. it often bubbled up if there was a bit of water left in the oj can, sometimes right up over the rim!

    I always thought that slowly frying bacon on the stove top was best, until I worked in the Hunt Hospital kitchen and we had to cook bacon for 100 patients. (quickly). That’s where I learned how to bake it! Thanks for the memory jogging! Auntie KK

    • Brenda Living Primal permalink
      August 8, 2011 7:15 pm

      Katie, I can remember as a kid in the 60’s, my parents use to have the can on the stove, it said grease on the front, and it had an insert on top that was a strainer, and the lid had a round red handle. I don’t remember them having to put it in the fridge. It probably didn’t have nitrates in it back then. I don;t remember them doing much cooking with it. Brenda Living Primal.

      • Katie permalink*
        August 9, 2011 9:13 am

        I knew someone would relate to the can of grease on the stove reference. Although we didn’t have that growing up, my Dad said that his family did that! You know, I’m not sure if I need to keep it in the fridge… it seems like the right thing to do, but hearing stories of it being kept out all the time makes me think it’s unnecessary.

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Sliders-Guest Post « Spoonful of Sugar Free

Share Your Thoughts

