Skip to content

Grain and Sugar Free Banana Walnut Bread

August 5, 2011

Yesterday my new 35mm f/2 lens came in the mail and I jumped up and down with joy. I’ve ordered it from 3 different places, and canceled each after finding out it was on back order, so I’ve been waiting a long time. So after tearing it open (and by tearing I mean gingerly removing the package) I practiced a little inside with some subjects around the house…

And then I ventured downtown where there were plenty of more interesting subject than turnips…

She was loving life, and I was loving capturing the moment. I edited those both using Picasa and the cinema scope and 1960’s filters respectively. I love the grainy, faded look of those filters.

.

So with my new lens raring to go, I felt the immediate itch to bake. But it was too dark out to take some good shots so I waited until the next morning. After brainstorming some ideas, I decided to go with a grain free bread that I could enjoy for breakfast and snacks over the next few days.

.

My goal for this bread was to keep it (added) sugar free, gluten free, but not free of taste and satiety! I definetely succeeded in all three of those with this beauty…

Grain and Sugar Free Banana Walnut Bread

This bread is free of grains and added sugars. It came out incredibly moist, and just perfectly sweet from the ripeness of the banana. Makes about 6-8 slices. 

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 dates
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (I used refined, so it doesn’t have the coconutty flavor. You could also sub butter)
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup whole milk plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup walnuts

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Add coconut flour, baking soda, salt, and walnuts in a bowl.

In a food processor combine the banana and dates until smooth. To the banana mixture add 6 whisked eggs, vanilla, coconut oil, yogurt, and milk. Mix the wet ingredients really well. (I actually used the food processor to fully mix them together because the coconut oil hardened and wouldn’t mix well by hand). 

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix well. 

Pour into a small loaf pan that has been liberally coated with coconut oil. 

Bake for 50 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool for 15 minutes. Slice and enjoy!

.

What is your favorite flour to bake with? Whole wheat? spelt? Teff? There are so many! I really enjoy usuing coconut flour because it doesn’t usually need the help of other flours to hold it together (just tons of eggs!), and it has a deliciously mild coconutty flavor.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 5, 2011 8:44 am

    Wow– this bread looks great– and no wheat makes it look even better in my book 😉

    That accordion player reminds me of the lead singer of this band called The Dresden Dolls. Have you ever heard of them?

    • Katie permalink*
      August 5, 2011 9:46 am

      I just looked them up and your so right, she does!

  2. August 5, 2011 9:36 am

    That looks yummy! When I make banana bread I always use applesauce instead of oil and use only 1/4 of what they call for in sugar. It always tastes fine without so much sugar!

  3. August 5, 2011 2:10 pm

    I love coconut flour! I love the texture, the flavor, the nutritionals — it’s just so good! Usually I use white whole wheat if I’m baking something that I’m “healthifying” or straight up whole wheat for that delicious hearty flavor. I have so many different flours to experiment with that I don’t think I could just stick to one.

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 5, 2011 2:14 pm

    Yay for grain-free, sugar-free breads! Personally, they are my favorite kinds…I make my grain free nanner bread with nutbutters, though. It is fabulous!

    • Rebecca permalink
      August 22, 2011 1:02 am

      please share your recipe!

  5. August 5, 2011 6:04 pm

    This looks amazing, Katie. Your pictures are fabulous. I am bookmarking this recipe and hope to try it soon. Thanks again for your helpful emails about going gluten-free. So far, it has really helped me a lot!

    • Katie permalink*
      August 5, 2011 8:22 pm

      Thanks so much Allison! I’m glad it’s been going well for you and hopefully helping you feel much better. Feel free to email me anytime if you have questions!

  6. August 5, 2011 6:45 pm

    I love your work it’s stunning…Simply stunning.

    • Katie permalink*
      August 5, 2011 8:20 pm

      Thank you so much for your sweet compliment!

  7. August 5, 2011 8:26 pm

    This bread looks great! I love experimenting with just about any flour, to be honest with you 😛

    Your photos are stunning. And new “toys” for photography is always fun!

    • August 5, 2011 8:32 pm

      …haha, by the way….when I saw those pictures, I thought to myself, “oh, neat – that looks kinda like Church Street/Burlington!”

      I had NO idea you lived there before thinking that – too cool!!

      • Katie permalink*
        August 5, 2011 8:59 pm

        Thank you so much! hahaha yes especially with the array of characters you can find on that street, its hard to miss in pictures! Have you been to burlington before?

  8. August 6, 2011 12:05 pm

    Your lens makes everything look so focused, I love it.

    I also love the looks of that street performer! She’s loving life, eh.

  9. August 6, 2011 2:23 pm

    Your pictures look gorgeous! I really like the first one. Can’t wait to see what comes next!

  10. August 6, 2011 10:08 pm

    I’m so glad I just found your blog! I love it so far:) And I’m totally making this tomorrow!

Trackbacks

  1. Shooting Outside My Comfort Zone « KatieDid

Share Your Thoughts

