Skip to content

Spicy Peanut Sweet Potato Fries

August 11, 2011
tags:

Small sweet pot-a-toe tied up in string…. this is one of my favorite things. Well, the string isn’t necessary I suppose. Just give me a yam and I’m happy.

One of my favorite snacks is a cold sweet potato (previously microwaved) slathered with peanut butter. Anyone else with me on the cold taters? The combination is perfection. But instead of being a lazy college student and microwaving yet another sweet potato for yet another 5 minutes, I decided to be domestic and make french fries. That counts as being domestic right?

And I’m glad I did. So happy. These are incredible.  So… when the dog bites or the bee stings or your feeling sad, just make these incredible fries and then you won’t feel soooo bad. (Sorry for the added syllable and general lack of rhythm. I promised food not musical talent.)


Spicy Peanut Sweet Potato Fries

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1 Tbsp of butter, melted
  • I Tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1 Tbsp of rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp of (GF) soy sauce–> look for gluten free tamari next to the soy sauces
  • Sprinkle of ginger, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and salt–> all to taste!
  • Healthy pinch of brown sugar (could also use honey, other sweetener, or omit)
  • 1-2 Tbsp boiling water 
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. 
  2. Cut the ends of the sweet potato off. Then cut it into 3-4 planks going vertically. Line up 2 planks at a time and cut vertically again to make matchstick french fries. 
  3. Toss the fries with the melted butter until coated. 
  4. Combine all other the ingredients in a bowl and whisk while drizzling the hot water in until the sauce thins out to a thick dressing-like consistency. Pour onto the fries and cover evenly.
  5. Spread fries onto a parchment lined baking sheet (it gets messy) and place in the center rack for 40-50 minutes, stirring about halfway through. 
  6. Dip in plain yogurt (my choice), tahini, ketchup, honey mustard etc. 
15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 9:41 am

    NIce post !

  2. August 11, 2011 10:19 am

    I love that you used butter and tamari together! Usually, toasted sesame oil is the fat of choice whenever soy sauce is involved. I don’t know if it comes through in the fries, but I think butter and soy sauce taste great together. And obviously, you can’t go wrong with peanut butter. I’ve been meaning to make sweet potato fries again (I have another recipe already bookmarked), so I’ll keep your recipe in mind!

    • Katie permalink*
      August 11, 2011 3:48 pm

      Yeah, I’m not a big fan of sesame oil for some reason. I’m not crazy about all Asian style cuisine, and that oil reminds me of it. Butter is always my go- to cooking fat 🙂

  3. August 11, 2011 12:10 pm

    I like the first photo! 🙂 these sound PERFECT… I love sweet + spicy. and I love fries.

    • Katie permalink*
      August 11, 2011 3:47 pm

      Thank you! And they are divine, they’ve got a perfect kick to them.

  4. August 11, 2011 12:31 pm

    Those look amazing! I’m writing them on my “to cook” list.

  5. August 11, 2011 12:47 pm

    ohhhh, these sound wonderful! i actually have hardly had any sweet potatoes all summer, after living off of them all winter! you’re making the cravings come back full strength 😉

  6. August 11, 2011 3:50 pm

    Oh my deliciousness. These sound sooo good! I love nut butter crusted sweet potato fries, but i never thought of making a savory version. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

    • Katie permalink*
      August 11, 2011 8:49 pm

      Ohhh and I’ve never thought of making it sweet… you should share this recipe! Unless its already out there in the blog world and I’m just missing it??

  7. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
    August 11, 2011 5:31 pm

    I LOVE the combo of sweet potato and PB!

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 11, 2011 6:22 pm

    YES!!! I am soooooo excited for this recipe 😀 😀 YAY!

    Never tried the peanut tater combo before…tater, almond, cinnamon combo is good, though!

  9. August 11, 2011 9:19 pm

    Um, DELICIOUS! I am now totally craving sweet potato fries! I am going to try your recipe ASAP!

    Also, I love the Sound of Music reference–that is my favorite musical!

    • Katie permalink*
      August 11, 2011 9:56 pm

      I think you can adapt it pretty easily to be totally paleo too, if you want. Almond butter, no sugar… I’m sure it’ll be just as delicious!

  10. August 12, 2011 7:54 am

    I absolutely love sweet potatoes! I’m gonna have to try theses! Oh and now I have that song from Sound of Music stuck in my head 🙂 haha

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Sliders-Guest Post « Spoonful of Sugar Free

Share Your Thoughts

